A frantic seahorse

 

Based on Myers-Briggs Type Indicator – the expansion of Carl Jung’s theory about personality types – I am an INFJ.

David Hodgson in his book “The Buzz” (Crown House Publishing, Ltd., 2015) represents an INFJ as a seahorse.

Ok, here’s something I like about being a seahorse that Hodgson elaborated in his book:

Strength:

1. Can work quietly on something until it’s finished and solve problems using their imagination (this one is so cool, I feel like Spongebob Squarepants)


*No, I’m not being sarcastic, I really am imagining myself doing the hand gesture like Spongebob when I read it.

2. Can be aware of people’s values and strengths.

3. Warm and caring.

4. Patient with complicated situation.

5. Have original ideas.

6. Adaptable.

7. Devoted to people and causes they care for strong internal beliefs.

8. Calm.

However, seahorses can be overthinking and often get lost inside their thoughts. Hodgson said they need to talk more with others, share and express their feelings to the world.

Well, that’s what I’m doing by writing this blog. Hodgson is right, I live in my own bubble. I wear my heart on my sleeve and I think too much. I should learn how to let go and more importantly, learn how to ignore. Some people are just raised differently and I just can’t expect them all to sync with me. Some questions have no answer and I have to accept it and stop thinking obsessively about it. Some unfortunate events happen and they’re just the parts of life, not the punishment. Sometimes my feelings are too intense; it hurts and it’s heavy.

Sometimes, this frantic seahorse needs to be just a seahorse, a deep and magical creature who enjoys living in warm water and value their own uniqueness as a blessing, not as a curse.

Leave a comment